Skip to Content

Criminal and/or Immigration Areas of Practice

Looking for definitions of terms?

Lawyers who restrict their practice to criminal law and/or immigration law throughout the policy period can apply for the Restricted Area of Practice option on their policy. This option recognizes that these areas of law are a lower claims risk and so the premium is reduced accordingly.

What is the coverage?

Coverage is only for claims arising out of professional services in the area of criminal and/or immigration law provided during the policy period.

You will have coverage for professional services in other areas of law if they were provided prior to claiming the restricted area of practice option.

The coverage is the standard coverage of $1 million per claim/$2 million in the aggregate, applicable to claim expenses, indemnity payments and/or costs of repairs together.

The premium discount is equal to 50% of the base premium. The maximum premium discount for Restricted Area of Practice option, Part-Time Practice option and the New Lawyer discount combined cannot exceed 50% of the base premium.

To apply complete the Restricted Area of Practice declaration on your application. All lawyers (and paralegal partners or shareholders, if applicable) in a law firm that is a law partnership (including general, multi-discipline and/or combined licensee partnerships and LLP partnerships) or a law corporation must select this option collectively as a group.

For 2023, we are introducing automatic exemption from the transaction levy filing requirements for lawyers on the Restricted Area of Practice premium discount. Lawyers can certify on renewal that they and the other members of their firms only practise criminal and/or immigration law.

Land Acknowledgement

The offices of LAWPRO are located on the traditional territory of many nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, Anishnabeg, Chippewa, Haudenosaunee and Wendat peoples. Toronto is covered by Treaty 13 with the Mississaugas of the Credit. LAWPRO respects and acknowledges the histories, languages, knowledge systems, and cultures of First Nations, Metis, and Inuit nations.

Back to top